We stopped collaboration with Agoda in July 2015. See below for all the reviews and quotation mark from January 2014 till July 2015, English first

 

Christopher D. United Kingdom, July 10, 2015    

Rural location; breakfast; quiet area

9.7

 

Jade G. United Kingdom, July 8, 2015      Perfect overnight stay

Mark (he's so helpful and approachable), the breakfast! (Beuatiful), bungalows (eco friendly)

10

I could not recommend this place enough. Mark and his partner have planned Thitaw Lay with such a respect for their surroundings. Their hotel is quaint but appropriate for Kalaw - and the breakfast! Wow :) Freshly baked bread made with a starter from Belgium and using a wood fire stove built in their garden. Homemade jams taking advantage of the beautiful local produce available in Shan state. I'm so glad we stayed here in this beautiful little town.

 

Bailey V. Canada, June 10, 2015 Mountainside retreat

Welcoming owners, amazing sleep quality, breakfast

9.7

We stayed one night before a trek from Kalaw to Inle lake. This is a great place to stay. Very clean, and very nice room with an amazing bed. The showers were hot. The owner was lovely, very helpful. The breakfast is amazing, and you can take banana bread for your hike. Highly recommend!

 

Christoph M. Germany, January 30, 2015              Great place to stay at

Quiet location, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast

10

We really enjoyed our stay at the Thitaw Lay Guesthouse. Marc was a great help giving us local knowledge for walks in the area, the breakfast was amazing (freshly baked bread and homemade jams) and the room, especially the beds, were really comfortable.

 

Pauline H. United Kingdom, January 30, 2015    Great stay in Kalaw
We stayed in a garden chalet which was great. Location is good, near enough to town for easy walk in enables you to also enjoy the quite away from the hustle of the centre. Breakfast excellent .
10
This B&B is in a good location, a 15 minute leisurely walk into town, great for walks in the surrounding area. Rooms were very clean and comfortable in a peaceful setting and breakfast was delightful, home made bread, banana cake and pancakes, with home made jams. The owners were very helpful and friendly, a great place to stay if you are trekking in the area or staying over to then do the Kalaw to Inle walk. I only wish I could have spent more time there.

 

Bob L. United States of America, January 22, 2015

The host should get a '6'...superb, homemade breakfast, best local information sheet in the room

9.3

 

Raymond P. United States of America, January 10, 2015

Owner, location, property

8.7

Excellent. The owner Marc creates a personal touch. Helpful, friendly, speaks fluent English.

 

Nam D. Singapore, November 19, 2014  A nice place to stay in Kalaw

Clean, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere

9

Clean, comfortable room within the greener side of Kalaw. Very nice breakfast (fresh bread baked daily by Marc). Marc even gave me a ride to town. Highly recommended

 

Rachel R. United Kingdom, November 8, 2014    Wonderful place to stay

Beautiful location, great hospitality, fabulous room and breakfast

10

We have visited Myanmar twice and this has been our favourite hotel/guest house out of the many different places we have stayed. I do not believe I have ever rated anywhere 10/10, so believe me when I say we could not fault our stay here. The setting is lovely - beautiful gardens (watch out for the "alcoholic" cow that visits the gardens to eat the fermenting fruits that have fallen from the trees!), with walks in the forest and a monastery on your doorstep and by far the best breakfasts in Myanmar (including homemade breads, jams and yoghurt). Marc is an extremely welcoming and helpful host and his staff are equally friendly and eager to please. We stayed in the studio which was spacious, comfortable, clean and modern whilst still managing to retain a traditional charm. It has a private outdoor area where you can sit and relax and enjoy the view. We could have stayed here for a week and enjoyed the ambience! Thitaw Lay is set on a hillside and is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Kalaw. We enjoyed the walk when going out to eat of an evening (and visiting the local market in the morning) but you can also arrange for food to be delivered if you are too tired from hiking. It is also situated on the right side of town for easy access to the railway station (Myanmar trains are a great experience if you do not have a deadline to get somewhere and have plenty of time to spare!!). All in all we loved our stay in Kalaw - it is a great area to visit and you could not choose a better place to stay than Thitaw Lay House.

 

Anthony F. France, October 23, 2014       Great place in Kalaw

Marc is a great sources of information and breakfast was great.

9.3

 

Joy W. Australia, October 18, 2014 Fabulous get away

Mark the owners hospitality, Cabin type accommodation and location in the forest, best breakfast

10

Our stay at Thitaw Lay house was fantastic. Mark the owner was so welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in the Forrest cabin, a touch of Europe in Myanmar, big cabin with all you need, nice big bathroom, balcony to sit and relax on and a great area to get away. Mark was able to help us book a day trip to the Green Hill Elephant camp, fantastic. Each day there is a fabulous breakfast with home made sour dough bread, eggs as you like, home made yogurt, banana bread, Belgium pancakes, jams and spreads all home made from local fruits and produce from the garden. If you don't want to head into town Mark even organised take away dinner from a local restaurant. cheap and great food. Great place

 

Brendan R. Australia, October 5, 2014 Paradise in Kalaw

Marc and the staff were warm, welcoming and made us feel at home. The breakfast is a treat, the rooms very comfortable and the water hot.

8

 

Dirk J. Germany, August 3, 2014 great stay

staff, location,breakfast

10

a good place for hiking, friendly staff, good breakfast.

 

Rumanti D. Indonesia, May 23, 2014 was great!

super clean, friendliest staffs and really remote location

10

i was beyond happy when i stayed there in may with a friend. we arrive at 2 am in the morning, and marc the owner woke up and opened the door for us himself. he let us spent the rest of the night there for free! top notch service, breakfast was incredible. it was like your own home. please be aware that no internet connection within the area. but gladly let us borrowed his laptop to email home. kalaw is really remote location, but has a wonderful view. you should do trekking there. do not worry, you won't get lost because marc let us took trekking map in his kitchen. will definitely go back.

 

Brona C. Ireland, May 9, 2014 Fantastic

Extremely helpful staff, superb breakfast, beautiful quiet surroundings

10

My husband and I had a wonderful time here, so much so that we came back for an additional two nights after our trip to Inle lake. We would have loved to stay longer but we had other commitments in Yangon. Marc is a fantastic host, he went above and beyond what we expected of him. He couldn't have been more helpful and generous. The rooms are beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and really spacious. So lovely to wake up in the morning and hear nature all around. The breakfast was AMAZING.....Marc makes delicious home-made bread, yoghurts and cheese. We loved his banana bread!!! We have been travelling for six weeks and this has been the best breakfast by far. Marc has mapped out some walks and treks around the surrounding countryside: we did three of them and loved every minute. Thitaw Lay House is a very special treasure and we were extremely lucky to find it. Thank you Marc for being such a great host and making our stay so memorable! Brona and Barry

 

Kari B. Netherlands, April 25, 2014

Tranquil setting and best homemade breakfast!

Breakfast, staff, location/surroundings

10

We were warmly welcomed by the staff and the owner came over and chatted with us making us feel very much at home and giving us some tips on what to do in and around Kalaw. We loved the tranquility of the (fruit & vegetable) gardens as well as our studio - so we decided to stay an extra night. Breakfast deserves a spacial mention here as the owner bakes his own breads with an outdoor bread oven which he built himself and makes his own cheeses and yoghurts. We also had delicious fruit handpicked from the garden. All in all a wonderful stay that we would happily recommend to anyone looking for a personal and warm stay in a peaceful setting.

 

Kathryn M. Australia, April 22, 2014

Fantastic. Excellent breakfast. Friendly & helpful

The home made breads, jams, pancakes etc for breakfast. The staff where so helpful and friendly. The relaxing atmosphere and clean rooms.

9.7

We had a wonderful stay at Thitaw. I would highly recommend Thitaw Lay House.

 

Michael C. United States of America, April 21, 2014

Wonderful property with great hosts in Kalaw.

Hosts, breakfast, access to hiking trails

9.3

 

Nikolay K. Russia, April 16, 2014 superb

The owners are really charming people

9.7

The owners are really charming people, they welcomed us as at home. Marc gave us a lot of advises and prepared some details about walks around Kalaw which was a great help. The fresh bread and french pancakes in the morning are just delightful. Best stay in Myanmar....

 

Murray M Canada, April 7, 2014 A Gem

Friendliness, cleanliness, peaceful

10

Thitaw Lay House was one of the best accommodations we had during our 2 month travel adventure. Our cottage was surrounded by gardens, and was extremely peaceful. Mark, our host, was attentive to our every need. The breakfast was outstanding. Mark makes his own bread, jams, and cheeses. What a treat! I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely guesthouse.

 

Jan M. Sweden, March 28, 2014                Best breakfast in asia, close to trekking

breakfast! nature, peaceful

9

We booked 1 night on agoda, but booked one more as soon as we got there. They have the best breakfast ever. Homemade bread, jam, cheese and yoghurt. Pancakes, eggs nd REAL coffee! The staff was nice and for us it was a perfect location because we did some trekking in the area. About a 15 minute walk to city center. If you don't feel like walking 30-40 minutes both ways, you can order dinner in the reception and they go get the food for you from a burmese/chinese resturant with great food.

 

Gary O. United Kingdom, March 15, 2014              Fantastic room in garden setting

The room , the breakfast , the setting

9.3

We did the two day trek from inle lake ,(which was fantastic ), so we needed a room in kalaw ! booked this on agoda before we set off for 32usd for two inc breakfast! This is a bargain, it's owned by a Belgium chap and his wife and it's only two months old .(march 2014) , we stayed in the jungle room ,which is a wooden hut in the lovely garden. There are only 3 of these and there big with two large single beds which are very very comfortable , the hut is very tastefully decorated and has a large modern bathroom. This hotel is right on the walk into kalaw so it was perfect , the distance to kalaw town is 20 mins , railway station 10 mins. ( walking) And the owner will collect you or drop you off for no charge. The breakfast is fantastic and all home made , bread yogurt cheese etc and fruit. We loved it here ,and if your thinking of just using this as as stop over before inle lake I'd stay more than one night as there's loads of treks all around kalaw. This is great accommodation and a really lovely place to stay , ! 100% recommend .

 

Hannah G. United Kingdom, March 6, 2014          Superb in every way

Location, Staff, beauty

10

I could not recommend this place more. It's brand new so you're bound to be wowed due to the style and comfort of the place. I'm backpacking with my son so found this was a perfect place to chill for us. The hotel is located up in the hills out of town; you can walk up in 15min or take a taxi. it's stunning, surrounded by natural beauty and close to nice walks. (You may need to ask a few taxi drivers when you arrive as it's so new some don't know about it) It's only small; two bungalows and side annex to the house (I think there is one more room available)?? The wooden bungalows are pristine, bathrooms very modern, mosquito nets available above each bed when required. The breakfast is to die for; everything home made/ Jam, Cheese, Bread, Bio yogurt drink etc etc The owner Marc is actually form Belgium, he is married to a Myanmar lady! He is extremely friendly and a humble man. He can advise you on local walks around the area so you don't need to pay for a guide. If you're too tired to walk to town for dinner then they can order it in and the driver will go and collect it for you. There is No wifi here yet, they are trying to get something sorted asap! but seriously that didn't bother me, it was too nice to give a rats! (Marc does have a slow modem on his laptop that you can use, or go to town and use the café) :)

 

Belinda R. United Kingdom, February 27, 2014    Warm and friendly

Friendly..breakfast...situation

10

Our stay was great,very friendly owner and his wife. They made us feel at home. We were one of the first guests to stay and it was fantastic. The breakfast was to die for,home made bread ,unheard of in Burma together with homemade yogurt. The bedroom was wooden with wonderful wooden smells. Lovely balcony to relax in on edge of garden. I would recommend this place to stay to anyone.

 

Katharina S. Austria, February 27, 2014   TOP! Go there for everything! ;)

Breakfast, the Manager, and the Bungalow

9.3

It was a very, very night in Kalaw at the Thitaw Lay House, we really enjoyed it! Especially the breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly and we felt very comfortable and like at home. Playing cards in the evening in the "common room" and talking to the owner was very relaxing and we got a perfect holiday-feeling although we only stayed one night! The next we left early for a trekking tour, that the owner of the house organized for us, very kind of him, everything went well and the quality of the tour was also TOP! I would definitely recommend staying here for one night, change your plans, if kalaw is not yet in your myanmar-route, because the thitaw lay guest house is worth spending a night or two before heading to a trekking tour!

 

Prudence S. Australia, February 26, 2014               Peaceful garden room with friendly staff

Peacefullness, beautiful countrystyle room, friendly and knowledgeable owner

10

We stayed in February 2014 and we couldn't find fault with this little boutique place. It was very peaceful yet central enough to Kalaw centre that we could walk (15 minutes). Our room was a garden bungalow with a lovely sunny patio. The bungalow is large and has a very nice bathroom. Marc, the owner and host, was exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about Myanmar even though he is Belgium. Breakfasts were superb. Marc makes his own bread which was delicious as it is European style bread...that is not sweet like Myanmar bread. His chef makes the best pancakes which are delicious with Marc's homemade jam and soft cheese. We were booked for one night but ended up staying two nights. Marc arranged a tour to the Green Hill Elephant camp which if you get a chance to go, you won't be disappointed. If we go back to Kalaw, this is where we will stay.

 

Katherine A. United States of America, February 25, 2014             Perfectly peaceful and quiet

access to interesting small sights, excellent breakfast, goregous and comfortable room

10

This was our favorite hotel in all Myanmar and probably of our entire 8-month trip! Our bungalow was beautiful and we could have stayed there for weeks if we'd had the time. Clean and comfortable is an understatement! Kalaw can get quite cold at night in February but our rooms had plenty to be cozy and warm, Marc even runs a wood-burning stove in the dining room which created a wonderful sense of community and a nice place to have a chat. He's still working on getting working wifi (no small task in Myanmar), but he's generous enough to let his guests borrow his USB modem or laptop if we needed it. We hope to return one day, thanks so much!

 

Kay M. Germany, February 9, 2014          Great Place

The quality of the room has European standard, breakfast, very friendly owner

10

Very pleasant stay in a great bungalow, very carefully constructed with wood and nice design, even the furniture was made after the design of the owner - superb and usually not to have with less than 4 stars!

 

Tobias Z. Germany, February 8, 2014       excellent stay in beautiful environment

breakfast, quiet location, warm-hearted personal atmosphere

10

This was definitely one of the best places I have been to traveling in SE Asia and the No 1 in Myanmar. It is brand-new, everything from the bungalows to the rooms and interior is self-designed and made from mostly teak-wood. The breakfast is unbeatable, from jam to bread all home-made and very tasteful. The owners are very nice and always try to help you wherever they can and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Highly recommended!!!

 

Hannah P United Kingdom, January 27, 2014       Tranquil, pristine accommodation

quality, helpful staff, beautiful setting

10

This newly opened B and B provided us with our favourite accommodation from our whole stay in Myanmar. The individual chalets are immaculate and tastefully decorated with small tasteful touches. The gardens are dripping with avocado trees and other wildlife and the staff could not have been more helpful- assisting us...with everything from walking routes to translations. On top of that the homemade breakfast was wonderful and they catered to our quirky dietary requirements. We would not usually bother with reviews, but this place deserves a special mention! Hannah and John, Wales.

 

Manuel L. Spain, November 21, 2014      Inmejorable

Habitación, desayuno y trato

10

La habitación y ubicación son perfectas. La calidad del desayuno es increíble. Marc hace todo lo posible para que disfrutes al máximo de tu estancia, muy buenos consejos sobre caminatas en la zona por tu cuenta. Puedes encargar la cena en un restaurante, te la llevan al hotel solamente por 1 dólar, y todo estaba muy bueno

 

Astrid S. Spain, August 24, 2014 PERFECTO

LIMPIEZA, DESAYUNO, TRANQUILIDAD

10

Este alojamiento nos encantó. Son pequeñas casitas de madera en las que no falta de nada, muy confortables y muy limpias. Estás metido en plena naturaleza y se respira una gran tranquilidad. El dueño es muy atento y amable, te da información de la zona y te ayuda en todo lo que puede. Una de las cosas a destacar es su desayuno, riquísimo, muy variado y completo, con productos elaborados por ellos, como el pan de plátano que símplemente es espectacular!! Volvería aquí sin lugar a dudas y se lo recomiendo a todo el mundo.

 

Franck V. France, May 10, 2015   très bon séjour

accueil. le bungalow. l environnement.

9

Parfaitement bien. Excellent accueil du propriétaire. Bungalow dans la nature .un peu excentré. Wi fi défaillante lors de notre passage. Merveilleux petit déjeuner.

 

Francois B. France, March 18, 2015           Un accueil chaleureux

Le calme, la gentillesse du propriètaire et le petit déjeuner

10

Notre séjour s'est très bien déroulé. Nous étions dans un petit chalet individuel. Marc est très sympathique et le petit déjeuner est top !

 

Francoise D. France, February 19, 2015   Endroit convivial dans un cadre agréable

Ambiance conviviale, excellent petit-déjeuner buffet, bonne literie

10

J'ai été très bien reçue par Marc, le Maître des lieux, qui m'a expliqué les balades à faire à Kalaw et aux alentours. La chambre était grande et propre avec une excellente literie. Le petit-déjeuner buffet était très varié, avec des produits faits "maison" (pain à la banane, crêpes, jus de fruits frais pressés, yaourt, etc. ...). Le soir, il était possible de dîner sur place en passant une commande auprès d'un restaurant en ville, ce qui était très pratique. J'ai séjourné deux fois dans cette guesthouse et ne l'ai pas regretté. C'était mon meilleur hébergement en Birmanie.

 

Sabine J. France, March 7, 2014 nouveau et trés agréable

calme,propreté, accueil

7.3

trés bien mais trés difficile à trouver assez proche de la gare

 

Laura W. Germany, March 17, 2015          sehr relaxter Aufenthalt

Terasse mut Garten, Badausstattung, Aufenthaltberatung, Frühstück

9.7

 

Monika M. Germany, January 21, 2015   Pure Natur!

Frühstück komplett homemade, Mitten in der Natur, sehr nette Besitzer!

10

Wir waren diesen Januar 3 Nächte im Thitaw Lay House- es war traumhaft, was an der tollen Natur dort lag, aber vorallem lag es an dem Gesamtpacket selbstgestaltetes Haus, Garten usw., Frühstück 1 mit Stern- alles selbstgemacht insbesondere das tolle Brot! Marc, der Betreiber hat die richtige Mischung an Interesse und Ruhe zu geben,- alles in allem waren es die besten Tage in Myanmar! Danke!

 

Ursina S. Switzerland, December 8, 2014               Kleines Paradies in Kalaw

Gastfreundschaft, Frühstück, Garten

9.3

Wir verbrachten Anfangs Dezember zwei Nächte im Thitaw Lay House und waren begeistert von der Gastfreundschaft, dem absolut köstlichen und vielfältigen Frühstück und der schönen Gartenanlage in der das Guesthouse liegt. Für uns der perfekte Ort um zu entspannen!

 

Simone M. Germany, November 14, 2014            schöneUnterkunft mit familiärer Atmosphäre

familiäre Atmosphäre, sehr gutes Frühstück, liebevoll gestaltetes Haus mit Garten

9.7

etwas außerhalb gelegen, ruhige und entspannte Umgebung, sehr gutes Frühstück, liebevoll eingerichtet, schön angelegter Garten.

 

Angelika K. Germany, October 13, 2014 schöner Bungalow im Grünen

Lage, Garten, Frühstück

10

Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt: eine kleine Anlage von 3 Bungalows mit eigener Terrasse inmitten eines schönen, großen Gartens. Die Bungalows liegen etwas außerhalb des Ortes und daher herrscht eine wunderbare Ruhe. Es gibt ein tolles Frühstücksbuffet und auch sonst alles Bestens.

 

Erich L. Germany, March 23, 2014             ruhige Tage in Kalow

Zimmer einfach, aber Wertigkeit eingerichtet, sehr freundliches Personal, gutes Frühstück

9.7

Wir wollten zwei Tage bleiben, es wurden vier und gerne wären wir noch länger geblieben.

 

Manuela L. Austria, March 12, 2014          Marc ist Super zuvorkommend ,Frühstück lecker

Marc,Frühstück ,ruhe

10

 

Daniel H. Germany, February 10, 2014    12 von 10 möglichen Punkten ;o)

Geniales Frühstück, super Personal, ruhige Lage

10

Marc und sein Team haben es einfach verstanden. Es gibt super saubere Zimmer (auch nach deutschen Maßstäben), die liebevoll eingerichtet sind. Es gibt viel Holz im Zimmer, ein großes Bett und einen schönen Ausblick. Wir sind abends angekommen und haben uns sofort wohl gefühlt. Nach einer erholsamen Nacht kam der Hammer: Das Frühstück! Es gibt selbstgemachte Marmeladen, frische Eierspeisen nach Wunsch (vom Pfannkuchen bis zum Spiegelei), hausgemachten Joghurt, guten Kaffee, frisch gebackenes Brot (!!!) und eine gemütliche Atmosphäre bei Kaminwärme. Eigentlich wollten wir nur 2 Nächte bleiben und haben gleich auf 4 verlängert. Unsere mit großen Abstand beste Unterkunft in Myanmar. Vielen herzlichen Dank an Marc und sein Team. Bitte weiter so! ;o)

 

Natalie D. Belgium, April 25, 2015              Puur genieten in Kalaw

De rust, de mooie kamers, behulpzaamheid van eigenaar/personeel.

9.7

Zeer goed verblijf gehad. Eigenaar zeer goede gastheer. Mooie en ruime kamer. Lekker ontbijt.

 

Margaretha V. Netherlands, April 14, 2015           Klein paradijsje

Bungalow. Ontbijt. Rust.

9

We verbleven hier drie nachten in een garden bungalow. Heel sfeervol, goed ingericht en met veel privacy. Vriendelijke eigenaar. Heerlijk ontbijt met eigengebakken (bananen)brood en pannenkoeken. Locatie is wel wat afgelegen, vooral als het regent kan je nergens naar toe. Gelukkig voorziet de eigenaar in een 'take-away service'. Voor 1 dollar extra wordt er door een medewerker eten gehaald, wat je kan bestellen van een menukaart. Leuke extra service! Ook kan je hier voor een prikje een wasmachine met kleren laten draaien.

 

Sofie V.  Belgium, April 26, 2014 verwennerij in een prachtig landschap

Fantastisch ontbijt, warme gastheer Marc en mooie bungalow in een prachtige groene omgeving.

9.7

We vonden de b&b op agoda en sprak ons onmiddellijk aan. Daar toegekomen werden we hartelijk ontvangen door Marc en was de guesthouse in werkelijkheid nog fantastischer dan we verwacht hadden. De bungalow was supergroot en mooi ingericht. Het terras keek uit op de prachtige groene omgeving van Kalaw! Het ontbijt was pure verwennerij : zelfgemaakt brood, zelfgemaakte kazen en yoghurt, pannenkoeken, aardbeien en braambessen uit de tuin, verse koffie,... Dit was het beste ontbijt tijdens onze reis in Myanmar. Marc ontving ons hartelijk en maakte dat we ons hier thuis voelden. Een echte b&b waar we de keuken en living met tv mochten gebruiken. 'Marc heeft ook een aantal mooie wandelroutes uitgestippeld die je perfect zonder gids kan doen. En dit allemaal te midden van het groene en rustige omgeving van Kalaw! Dit guesthlouse is een pareltje en perfect om de batterijen op te laden!

 

Rick V. Netherlands, March 13, 2014        Gastvrijheid en familiegevoel

Eigenaar, ontbijt, kamer

10

Een geweldige bed and breakfast met een uitermate vriendelijke eigenaar. Prachtig ingerichte kamers met prima bedden! Een absolute aanrader, alleen al voor het heerlijke ontbijt. Marc bakt z'n eigen brood. Daarnaast maakt hij verschillende soorten kazen ook zelf! Echt genieten geblazen na 3 maanden ontbijten met toast en boter of rijst! Bedankt voor het heerlijke verblijf!

 

Jaeouk C. South Korea, April 30, 2015      미얀마에서 가장 훌륭한..

빵을 직접 구워주는 아침식사는 비슷한 수준의 호텔에 비해 거의 환상적이었다. 대충 준비하는게 아니라 과일하나 쨈하나도 세심하게 준비해주어 아침식사시간이 기다려졌다. 미얀마호텔중에서 가장 만족스러웠다. 객실의 청소도 만족스러웠다. 다른호텔에서는 청소가 잘되지않는 침대 머리맡, 책상, 창틀등이 깨끗했다. 무엇보다 침대와 침구류가 정말 좋았다